Join the Socialist Party Join us today!

Printable version Printable version

Facebook   Twitter

Link to this page: https://secure.socialistparty.org.uk/issue/987/27074

From The Socialist newspaper, 21 March 2018

Hands Off HRI campaign granted judicial review into hospital closure

Huddersfield HRI campaign at a Barnsley NHS protest 28 October 2017, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party

Huddersfield HRI campaign at a Barnsley NHS protest 28 October 2017, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party, photo Huddersfield Socialist Party   (Click to enlarge)

Hands Off HRI campaign

Hands Off HRI made legal history at Leeds Crown Court on 15 March. Judge Mark Gosnall agreed there were important matters of law which must be tested in a full judicial review. We expect the hearing to take place in June.

The hospital trust has so far considered itself to be beyond reproach but they will now have to account for their proposals in court.

This is a huge blow to the trust and a massive victory for the people of Huddersfield who have stood shoulder to shoulder with this campaign. It has taken two years of hard work and perseverance to pull this off but we have been rewarded.

The judge has approved the referral to the high court on the following grounds:

Our campaign group will now be shifting up a gear to ensure all possible approaches are explored to win this legal case. Of course we still await the outcome of the independent reconfiguration panel which is now with the secretary of state but undoubtedly this legal case will focus his mind!

This challenge has local and national consequences. It is the first serious legal challenge of its kind. If we win, it doesn't just help our hospital, it will give encouragement to all campaign groups fighting for their own services. However we will need ongoing public support.

We estimate we need to raise another 10,000 to bring our legal case and that is where you come in. All supporters can help us in our next phase of fund raising. We have now proved this is not a done deal and that people power can work. Organise your own fundraiser or just donate to our legal fund. This is a fight for Huddersfield and the wider NHS and we can win. Let's do this together.

Donate to the Socialist Party

Coronavirus crisis - Finance appeal

The coronavirus crisis has laid bare the class character of society in numerous ways. It is making clear to many that it is the working class that keeps society running, not the CEOs of major corporations.

The results of austerity have been graphically demonstrated as public services strain to cope with the crisis.

The government has now ripped up its 'austerity' mantra and turned to policies that not long ago were denounced as socialist. But after the corona crisis, it will try to make the working class pay for it, by trying to claw back what has been given.

  • The Socialist Party's material is more vital than ever, so we can continue to report from workers who are fighting for better health and safety measures, against layoffs, for adequate staffing levels, etc.
  • Our 'fighting coronavirus workers' charter', outlines a programme to combat the virus and protect workers' living conditions.
  • When the health crisis subsides, we must be ready for the stormy events ahead and the need to arm workers' movements with a socialist programme - one which puts the health and needs of humanity before the profits of a few.
Inevitably, during the crisis we have not been able to sell the Socialist and raise funds in the ways we normally would.
We therefore urgently appeal to all our viewers to donate to our special coronavirus appeal.

Please donate here.

All payments are made through a secure server.

My donation

 

Your message: 

 


In The Socialist 21 March 2018:


What we think

Russia, spies and nerve agents


Socialist Party news and analysis

Hands off free school meals!

The Blairites are NHS privatisers - to save it means sacking them

Cuts harm kids' health

Hated Blairite mayor ousted: now fight for a no-cuts Newham!

Them & us


International socialist news and analysis

West Virginia teachers' strike victory

US school shootings: student walkouts challenge establishment

Brazil: Psol councillor Marielle Franco murdered


Workplace news and analysis

UCU strike: staff and students unite to continue pensions fight after magnificent 14 days of action

Hinkley workers win back unpaid wages after sit-in protest

Strikers and parents rally again in Newham against academies

Hull college workers ballot for action against mass redundancies

Unions condemn 'culture of bullying' at Merseyside hospital

NSSN conference moves


Socialist Party reports and campaigns

Refugees march against racism and to demand rights

Ideas matter: help us fight to win with May Day greetings

Past fund-raising campaigns show dedication to the fight for socialism

Why I joined: 'The Socialist Party is at the forefront of defending Corbyn's anti-austerity leadership'

Hands Off HRI campaign granted judicial review

Over 1,000 on Newcastle NHS march

Refugee Rights to be launched in Manchester


Opinion

Revolutionary physicist and champion of social causes

The Socialist inbox


 

Home   |   The Socialist 21 March 2018   |   Join the Socialist Party

Subscribe   |   Donate   |   Audio  |   PDF  |   ebook






Related links:

Huddersfield:

triangleKirklees: Labour and Green councillors refuse to fight the cuts

triangleLaunch of Huddersfield Women's Lives Matter

triangleHuddersfield Socialist Party: '12 years to save the world' - A socialist answer to climate change

triangleHuddersfield Socialist Party: The rise of the populist right in Latin America

triangleHuddersfield Socialist Party: Marxist feminism

Hospital:

triangleHospital closed following rampant spread of Covid-19

triangleDispatches from the front: bosses prepare fresh attacks on NHS

triangleAdding demands to the weekly claps

triangleISS workers' pay victory

NHS:

triangle"Test, trace, isolate, support" - the Tories' scheme fails on all counts

triangleCoronavirus pandemic news in brief

triangleEerily quiet before second wave - don't reopen schools!

Reports and campaigns

Reports and campaigns

5/6/20

Obituary

Ken Douglas

4/6/20

Black Lives Matter

3rd June anti-racist demonstrations across Britain

3/6/20

Equity

Equity union general secretary election

3/6/20

Socialist

Pandemic doesn't stop Socialist Party educating organisers: northern meeting

3/6/20

Labour Party

Blairite general secretary elected - Starmer's takeover of Labour Party consolidated

3/6/20

Racism

Fight racism and class inequality, fight capitalism!

3/6/20

Covid

Hospital closed following rampant spread of Covid-19

3/6/20

JCB

Coordinated union struggle needed to save jobs and nationalise JCB

3/6/20

PCS

PCS pay claim: Vital work unrecognised

3/6/20

Schools

Schools... no going back until it's safe

3/6/20

UCU

Reject the university employers' offer on pay, workload and casualisation

3/6/20

Buses

Fight continues for safety on London buses

27/5/20

Fighting Fund

We need readers' support to fight capitalist crisis

27/5/20

Ferries

Fight P&O's billionaire bosses' jobs cut plan

27/5/20

Schools

Schools aren't safe

triangleMore Reports and campaigns articles...


Join the Socialist Party
Subscribe to Socialist Party publications
Donate to the Socialist Party
Socialist Party Facebook page
Socialist Party on Twitter
Visit us on Youtube

LATEST POSTS

CONTACT US

Phone our national office on 020 8988 8777

Email: info@socialistparty.org.uk

Locate your nearest Socialist Party branch Text your name and postcode to 07761 818 206

Regional Socialist Party organisers:

Eastern: 079 8202 1969

East Mids: 077 3797 8057

London: 07748 534 891

North East: 078 4114 4890

North West 079 5437 6096

South West: 077 5979 6478

Southern: 078 3368 1910

Wales: 079 3539 1947

West Mids: 024 7655 5620

Yorkshire: 077 0671 0041

ABOUT US

ARCHIVE

Alphabetical listing


June 2020

May 2020

April 2020

March 2020

February 2020

January 2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999